From a topic to a thesis. The return!


ImageIt is been more than a month that I wrote my last post about my struggle towards an argument for my thesis. Well, I still haven’t resolved the issue, but I am working on it.
This time I am doing one exercise proposed by Thesis Whisperer. I am presenting the topic of my research in different ways and I will see which way reflects best what my thesis is about.
  • As a question: “How do EFL pre-service teachers learn to teach English?”
  • As an exploration: EFL teacher education in Chile: a CHAT perspective
  • As a statement:”Learning to be a teacher of English in a Chilean TEFL program”
  • As an investigation: “EFL teacher education in Chile: Affordances and Constraints”
  • As a hypothesis: “If learning to teach is a complex activity that goes beyond learning existing practices, it is  more likely that learning to teach has to do with understanding problems in a specific context and how to respond  to those problems “
  • As a thesis: “learning to teach is a complex activity that needs examination not only to understand it, but to improve it “

So I have done the exercise, now what’s my thesis?

About Malba Barahona

Educational researcher, language educator. PhD from Australian National University. Passionate bushwalker and mountain lover. I procrastinate reading fiction, hiking, doing yoga, riding, having a beer and more recently decolonizing my existence. I write in English and Spanish in different blogs especially with the purpose of encouraging my students to write.

Leave a Reply

