2011: the year of the code!


Here I am back in my office with  the Coding manual for qualitative researchers in one hand and my data on the other and I have got this feeling of what do I do now?

I collected heaps of data: interviews, documents, observations and artifacts. Now it is time to clean the data and get it ready to start the analysis. The first step is coding. But what the hell is Coding? “It  is a process for both categorizing qualitative data and for describing the implications and details of these categories. Initially one does open coding, considering the data in minute detail while developing some initial categories. Later, one moves to more selective coding where one systematically codes with respect to a core concept.”

Does it sound complicated for you as well? well, I’ll decode the meaning of coding and stop my procrastination and code my data.

This business of doing a PHD is easy peasy!

About Malba Barahona

Educational researcher, language educator. PhD from Australian National University. Passionate bushwalker and mountain lover. I procrastinate reading fiction, hiking, doing yoga, riding, having a beer and more recently decolonizing my existence. I write in English and Spanish in different blogs especially with the purpose of encouraging my students to write.

Leave a Reply

