The art of interviewing!


I have started interviewing the participants of my study and I’m absolutely thrilled! It’s so exciting to listen and talk to teachers and their views that motivate even more my determination to do this research.Interviewing can be tiring and time consuming, but it is such a powerful tool to get people’s views that I would keep myself doing this for other 4 hours ( I have already been interviewing for 4 hours)

Even though I have thought, reviewed and redone my questions several times, everytime I interview someone I wonder if the questions I ask are the correct ones, or the ones that I need to ask. I’m using interviews as a data collection method to understand the participants’ views of the activity of learning how to teach English as a foreign language. Therefore, my questions go in that direction: their experience in the activity of learning how to teach. It sounds pretty simple, but  it is much more complicated and complex.

While I am writing this post, I´m waiting for another interviewee. I am grateful to be doing this study. Now I know I know so little about the activity of learning how to teach and there is an urgent need to explore and understand this complex activity.

About Malba Barahona

Educational researcher, language educator. PhD from Australian National University. Passionate bushwalker and mountain lover. I procrastinate reading fiction, hiking, doing yoga, riding, having a beer and more recently decolonizing my existence. I write in English and Spanish in different blogs especially with the purpose of encouraging my students to write.

Leave a Reply

