Back on the right track!


Here I am attending ACTA International conference on the goldcoast.

After a few days in which I was tempted to to do a course on Activity theory at Helsinki University, now I’m back on my research topic: EFL teacher education. ACTA conference theme is Redefining TESOL in the 21st Century and it offers different talks, seminars and workshop within a wide range of topics:

• Pedagogy (including classroom practice, teacher education)
• Assessment and Evaluation
• Learners and Learning (including Second Language Acquisition, identity, literacy
development, culture etc)
• Curriculum & Policy.

Today I attended five talks, all of them were very interesting and engaging, but the one that impressed me the most was the one presented by professor Professor B Kumaravadivelu. He presented a conceptual model for TESOL teacher education which does not only adress knowledge, skills, dispositions , beliefs, but also educational, social, cultural, ideological and political transformations affected by globalization.

This revolutionary model has the goal to hel teachers understand how to build a viable professional, personal and procedural knowledge-base, how to explore learning and teaching needs, wants and lacks, how to recognise their own attitudes, believes and values, and how to do teaching, theorising and dialogising, and how to monitor their own teaching.

His presentation was really inspiring and I definitely need to read more of Kumaravadivelu’s proposal to have a better understanding and a position towards this model. I’ll start with his book

Cultural globalization and language education.

I also bought the book Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Classrooms. New Dilemmas for Teachers.

About Malba Barahona

Educational researcher, language educator. PhD from Australian National University. Passionate bushwalker and mountain lover. I procrastinate reading fiction, hiking, doing yoga, riding, having a beer and more recently decolonizing my existence. I write in English and Spanish in different blogs especially with the purpose of encouraging my students to write.

Leave a Reply

