Who said that the PhD is a long and tedious journey?


On Tuesday I attended a Mid_ Term seminar of another PhD student here at CEDAM. This student is researching PhD students’ conceptions of “research’ through the analysis of metaphors. What really stroke me about his presentation was this quote ” The Phd is long and somewhat tedious journey- a sot of three or four year marathon. A Phd student compared the experience of his doctorate studies with a long and tedious journey, like a marathon. Right away I wondered who this person is , what he/she is studying, what background he has, when he/she wrote this, it is a he or a she, etc… I think that to analyse peoples’ conceptions about research, you need to contrast discourse with the socio cultural aspects where he/she  is situated. If you don’t analyse the context, you don’t have the whole picture, but just a few spots.

Anyway, this  quote made me  reflected on my experience so far, has it been a journey? Yes it has. Long and tedious?Certainly, it is a long project, but tedious? Not at all, it is been very exciting, it has been vibrating and it has changed my identity. I am still in my first year , still wondering around different theories. I have access to books, workshops, conferences and whatever I need. I haven’t collected data yet. I have nice supervisors, I have a supporting group. I have a nice office with a beautiful view and air conditioning. Canberra is fantastic, small, quiet and green. People are laid back, so this explains why my journey has been so exciting.

The PhD  seems to be a unique and personal experience that impacts on people very differently, a transforming experience.  When I finish my PhD, I’d like to explore into this area, and do some research about it. There are lots of interesting questions and topics to be explored.

About Malba Barahona

Educational researcher, language educator. PhD from Australian National University. Passionate bushwalker and mountain lover. I procrastinate reading fiction, hiking, doing yoga, riding, having a beer and more recently decolonizing my existence. I write in English and Spanish in different blogs especially with the purpose of encouraging my students to write.

Leave a Reply

