What can I teach other PhD candidates?


The PhD candidades at CEDAM were asked to teach  the rest of the group one thing that we have found helpful in our research and do it on Thursday for our full day seminar. Unfortunately, I won´t be there because I´ll be attending a workshop on the utility of theories on the educational research in Bathrust. However, I offered to record my contribution, so that the rest of the group can watch it. I got into  the trouble of not only thinking what to share, but also record it in front of a camera… Oh, dear, I couldn´t say no!

The convenor gave us suggestions about the skills that we have developed through our research process and examples of what we can do, anyway, none of the suggestions seem to suit my expectations completely. I don´t feel confident enough to teach the other PhD candidates who are all very experienced and knowledgable. What can I teach them?

After giving it some thoughts, I decided to share some of my experiences in the use of three  tools that I have used in the process and that might be useful for them. So here it’s the video I made, it´s embarrassing. However, the exercise of thinking what to teach made me reflect on the things that I have learned so far. I feel proud of myself and I know there’s a lot to be done and I will go for it!

About Malba Barahona

Educational researcher, language educator. PhD from Australian National University. Passionate bushwalker and mountain lover. I procrastinate reading fiction, hiking, doing yoga, riding, having a beer and more recently decolonizing my existence. I write in English and Spanish in different blogs especially with the purpose of encouraging my students to write.

Leave a Reply

