Bush bashing my way through my PhD



Today I submitted my work plan for this year to my supervisors for their approval. The meeting was pretty straightforward , we followed my proposal and discussed some issues regarding travel grants, ethics application, and data collection instruments.

After the meeting, I felt in control of what I’m doing, where I’m going.  It is like when you have been bush bashing your way through thick bush, and after a while, feeling exhausted,you get to a clear spot and you can see your destination. That’s how I feel now. I know where the north is and I have a clear bearing to follow. Now I can proceed.

Year Month Completed
1 May Finish stage 1 of literature review (sociocultural theory)
May 13 Attend AARE workshop
May 20 Stephen and Margaret Submit abstract of poster to AARE conference: What does sociocultural theory offer Foreign language teacher education?
Send book review to journal (Language and Education Journal?)
1 June Participate/attend Foundations of University Teaching & Learning
Limit research questions
Select appropriate methods and methodology
Invite (formally) Jeremy Jones to be my advisor and ask him to read my proposal
Attend Ethics seminar
Plan Ethics proposal
1 July Attend ATESOL- do networking-
Submit research  proposal
August 20 Offer a   seminar: Research proposal review presentation
Adjust research proposal according to comments, feedback
Submit Ethics for approval
1 September Design collection data instruments
1 Submit collection data instruments for approval
Design  a pilot study
Apply for a travel grant (according to the form, you have to apply at least two months ahead of the date of the fieldwork) http://cass.anu.edu.au/graduate-forms-for-current-phd-mphil-students
2 October
Skype Chilean institutions
Submit invitation to Chilean institutions to participate in my research
Start a pilot study
Train for interviews, observations,etc.
2 November Design the poster for AARE conference
Write a paper about the same topic of the poster: What does sociocultural theory offer Foreign language teacher education?
2 December Present poster at AARE conference.
Submit a paper to a journal
2 January Enjoy Holidays
2 February-July 2011 Collect data in Chile

About Malba Barahona

Educational researcher, language educator. PhD from Australian National University. Passionate bushwalker and mountain lover. I procrastinate reading fiction, hiking, doing yoga, riding, having a beer and more recently decolonizing my existence. I write in English and Spanish in different blogs especially with the purpose of encouraging my students to write.

2 comments

  1. vivazep

    Congratulations, I’m glad for you, but don’t forget you will be lost again, is the nature of research I guess. Then you could remember this moment of confidence.

    Kisses

    (How is my writing?)

Leave a Reply

