I’m also a Spanish tutor at ANU!


Issues with identity? Well, in Chile I was a woman, once married, a teacher of English, a teacher educator and a mountain lover. Here, In Canberra, in Aussieland, I am a cyclist, a PhD student, a bushwalker,  Sothamerican, Chilean, a Spanish tutor, still a mountain lover and a woman.

This semester I started teaching Spanish to undergarduate students at ANU. I decided to do so for three reasons: first to get to know the university classroom in Australia from the inside and  get experience teaching here; second, to earn some money and third to try some ideas originated from research. It is been almost two months already, eight hours a week of teaching my own language. The first day I felt really weird, the object of my class was  Spanish. I didn’t know how to explain certain things of my own language, and I also had some discrepancies with the textbook in terms of language usage.But you know what? the language was not an issue, the most important thing about teaching was to provide students with a space , tools that give them the opportunity to learn a foreign language.

Teaching Spanish has changed my identity in the sense that somehow I show a bit of  what I represent, a latinoamerican Country, a shaky, poor country.

About Malba Barahona

Educational researcher, language educator. PhD from Australian National University. Passionate bushwalker and mountain lover. I procrastinate reading fiction, hiking, doing yoga, riding, having a beer and more recently decolonizing my existence. I write in English and Spanish in different blogs especially with the purpose of encouraging my students to write.

Leave a Reply

