What does sociocultural theory offer L2 teacher education?


This week I have focused my readings and thoughts on this question: What does sociocultural theory offer L2 teacher education?

Of course, the answer is not simple, this question includes two major topics: first   L2 teacher education and  second, sociocultural theory.  Here I am trying to organize my thoughts with more questions: what is language? what is teaching? what is teacher learning?what is the link between teacher learning and student learning? Does sociocultural theory give an account for the cognitive and social dimensions of learning? How do you analyse learning with a sociocultural perspective? What’s the difference of emphasis btweeen sociocultural theory and activity theory?

About Malba Barahona

Educational researcher, language educator. PhD from Australian National University. Passionate bushwalker and mountain lover. I procrastinate reading fiction, hiking, doing yoga, riding, having a beer and more recently decolonizing my existence. I write in English and Spanish in different blogs especially with the purpose of encouraging my students to write.

One comment

  1. Sigh, unfortunate I cannot read the mind map. I’m visually challenged and even at largest, text a bit blurred. However, questions you raise seem good fun to explore. With world in such rapid change do not know if possible to raise, nurture, train, educate a ‘generic’ teacher? Thanks for post.

Leave a Reply

