The experience of learning English as a foreign language in the process of becoming teachers of English-the Chilean case


These last weeks I have been reading about research, research methods, foundations of research, epistemology , types of research in the social sciences, etc. I’ve been diving into an ocean of unclear waters for me. These readings have made me wonder about the type of research I want to do and, again the question of the object of my study seems blur.

First, I’m committed to Chile which makes  me locate the  research in the Chilean context.I’m socially driven to study some aspects of the Chilean reality to make possible contributions.

Second, English as foreign language teacher education is the field of study I want to contribute to. More specifically, how student teachers become teachers.

Third, the use of ICT to enhance/transform learning is a promising area which I’d like to study.

What’s the linking point of  these three components? A week ago I wrote this:

The purpose of this study is to describe the experience of learning English using technology for pre-service teachers  of English as a foreign language in Chile.

Is this what I really want to research about?

About Malba Barahona

Educational researcher, language educator. PhD from Australian National University. Passionate bushwalker and mountain lover. I procrastinate reading fiction, hiking, doing yoga, riding, having a beer and more recently decolonizing my existence. I write in English and Spanish in different blogs especially with the purpose of encouraging my students to write.

Leave a Reply

