Enjoying the luxury of being a full time PhD student …


Before coming to Australia I had a very different idea of what I wanted to research on and how I will do it. I had planned to design a blended model to learn English for preservice teachers in Chile. I intended to implement it and then evaluate it based on pre/tests & post tests. It was very simple and straightforward.

Now that I’m here enjoying the luxury of being a full time PhD student at ANU, I realize that to answer the so what question requires much more thinking, heaps of reading and a more complex study.

The latest readings, conversations, discussions, & thinking have made me question once again about the real need of this study.  Some weeks ago, I wrote “My main concern deals with how pedagogy in EFL teacher education considers the imposed changes of the 21st century (globalization, innovative technologies, explosion of information, knowledge base society) to educate EFL teachers for change”. I still agree with this, and that’s why I want to focus my research on the understanding of pre-service teachers’ learning experience. Technology is part of this new era and is being used in EFL teacher programs. How do students perceive their experience of learning a foreign language mediated by the use of technology?has technology impacted pre-service teachers’ experience?

About Malba Barahona

Educational researcher, language educator. PhD from Australian National University. Passionate bushwalker and mountain lover. I procrastinate reading fiction, hiking, doing yoga, riding, having a beer and more recently decolonizing my existence. I write in English and Spanish in different blogs especially with the purpose of encouraging my students to write.

Leave a Reply

