The journey gets more & more…


Last week I devoted my time to browse  literature related to EFL teacher education, ICT, blended learning and critical thinking skills. It’s really appalling all the information available to be read and analysed. The ANU databases are amazing, you can find almost anything. I also learned how to use Endnote (software to hep you referencing).

I am reviewing the literature to find answers to this questions:

Could a blended learning model to learn English  be efficient not only to achieve language proficiency but to promote critical thinking skills?

(Work in progress, reading literature) Integration of ICT in EFL teacher education to learn English might contribute to:

    1. Teacher training in technology. Teachers need to be able to evaluate technological resources.
    2. Develop students’ autonomy towards their own learning.
    3. Authentic language use (input/output)
    4. Collaborative learning
    5. Construct knowledge
    6. develop a student centered system
    7. learn English based on authentic tasks.
    8. self-confidence
    9. develop of critical thinking skills.
    10. understand & reflect on the role of the teacher as facilitator.

I have enjoyed the readings very much, but today I felt it’s becoming a bit difficult to get focused with so much to read. I’m starting the walk in the forest and the path is all covered with stuff I have to clean to get through.

About Malba Barahona

Educational researcher, language educator. PhD from Australian National University. Passionate bushwalker and mountain lover. I procrastinate reading fiction, hiking, doing yoga, riding, having a beer and more recently decolonizing my existence. I write in English and Spanish in different blogs especially with the purpose of encouraging my students to write.

Leave a Reply

